The Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act pf 1991 focused on receiving local input. In response to this directive in 1993, the Iowa Transportation Commission adopted a new planning process patterned after the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) that created the regional planning affiliations (RPAs). In 1997 with the passage of Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21), the Commission reaffirmed its commitment to this regional transportation planning and programming process and this commitment was also included in the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21) and the current act Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST). There are 18 RPAs in Iowa, see RPA shown in the map to the right.

MIDAS Council of Governments (MIDAS) serves as the RPA for Region V. Region V consists the six counties, Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster and Wright and 61 cities. The map below shows the counties and cities located in Region V.

Each RPA has established a technical advisory committee and a policy board for guiding the planning and programming process in the region. The technical committee offers technical input to the policy board that is responsible for approving the planning and programming efforts in the region.

The Region V Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC) consists of a representative from each of the six counties, and a representative from the two cities in the region with a population over 5,000 which are Fort Dodge, and Webster City. Representatives from the Iowa Department of Transportation, the Federal Highway Administration, and the Federal Transit Administration are also invited to TAC meetings as non-voting members. The Region V TAC meets as needed but at least two times per year. The TAC makes recommendations to the MIDAS Executive Committee.

Chair Randy Will County Engineer Webster County
Vice Chair Paul Jacobson County Engineer Humboldt County
Zac Andersen County Engineer Calhoun County
Nicole Stinn County Engineer Hamilton County
Jack Moellering County Engineer Pocahontas County
Adam Clemons County Engineer Wright County
Chad Schaeffer City Engineer City of Fort Dodge
Kent Harfst Asst. City Manager City of Webster City

The Region V Policy Board is the MIDAS Executive Committee. There are 18 voting members and various alternates on the board whose membership is made of three members from each county. These three members represent the county, cities in the county and economic development interests in the county. The MIDAS Executive Board meets monthly. The MIDAS Board has final say in the PPP before it is forwarded to the IDOT.

Chair Alissa O'Connor Executive Director Humboldt County Economic Development
Vice Chair Vickie Reeck Community Development Manager City of Fort Dodge
Secretary Lee Ann Waltzing City Administrator City of Belmond
Carl Legore County Supervisor Calhoun County
Tammi Green City Council Cities Representative
Jill Heisterkamp Executive Director Calhoun County Economic Development
Dan Campidilli County Supervisor Hamilton County
Logan Welch Cities Representative
Sarah Thompson Executive Director Hamilton County Economic Development
Rachel Cahill (Alt) City Administrator City of Stratford
Kenric Weinschenk (Alt) Hamilton County
David Lee County Supervisor Humboldt County
Travis Goedken City Administrator City of Humboldt
Jo Ann Peters County Supervisor Pocahontas County
Eric List City Administrator City of Pocahontas
Tom Grau Executive Director Pocahontas County Economic Development
Nick Carlson County Supervisor Webster County
Kelly Halsted Economic Development Director Great Fort Dodge Area Alliance
Stan Watne County Supervisor Wright County
Bryce Davis Executive Director Wright County Economic Development

The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) requires each RPA to prepare five main planning elements for their region. These elements are:

Click on the transportation-related documents above to view current transportation plans of the MIDAS region.


Shirley Helgevold

(515)-576-7184 ext. 212