Transportation Planning

MIDAS provides transportation planning services to include grant writing, plan development, mapping, and services as the Regional Planning Affiliation for the MIDAS area.

Region V Regional Planning Affiliation 
In 1993 the Iowa Department of Transportation Transportation Commission adopted a new planning process patterned after the Metropolitant Planning Organization (MPO) that created the regional planning affiliations (RPAs). The six-member counties of MIDAS, Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster, and Wright designated the MIDAS region as the Region V Regional Planning Affiliation. 

Every RPA must establish a policy board that is responsible for approving the planning and programming efforts for the region. The MIDAS Board has been designated as the Policy Board for Region V.

The Region V RPA is required to prepare five main planning elements for the region and submit them to the Iowa Department of Transportation. The five elements include:

  • Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)—outlines the annual transportation planning activities each MPO/RPA will undertake during the next state fiscal year. 
  • Public Participation Plan (PPP)—outlines the process each MPO/RPA will follow to adequately involve the public in their transportation planning activities. 
  • Long-Range Transportation Plan (LRTP)—provides direction and guidance for each MPO/RPA to make efficient transportation investment decisions over a 20-year planning horizon. 
  • Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP)—promotes joint, coordinated passenger transportation planning programs, and provides needs-based justification for passenger transportation projects. 
  • Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)—identifies the capital and non-capital transportation projects proposed for federal-aid funding or action for each MPO/RPA over the next four-year period. 

For information on Transportation Planning, contact Stacy Lentsch, Community Development Director, 515-576-7183 ext.